On being busy

I’ve had a busy day.  As was yesterday.  And probably the day before that, and the day before that.

I live in busy.

I’ m a work-at-home mom with a lot going on.  I spend roughly 20 hours a week with Craft Gossip blogging.  I pick my daughter up each afternoon at school.  I get her to soccer two nights a week, and to a game every weekend.  I help out with her Girl Scouts one afternoon every other week.  I’m the president of the PTA at her school.  I volunteer in her classroom.  I check in on m 97-year-old grandmother at least once every couple of days.  I have hobbies.  I try to get to the gym at least a couple of times a week. I have friends that I like to stay connected with.  I have a husband. I like to stay connected with him, too.

It’s nearly 8:30 and after a day of busy, I’m just now getting to sit down to eat a bit of dinner.  I say that loosely, as I’m sitting on the couch with my plate next to me and I’m typing as I eat.  I want to get this post knocked out so I can continue working on the t-shirt I started making for my daughter.  I used the time earlier this evening at soccer practice to take care of some PTA membership bookkeeping.  The other moms were chit chatting with nice conversation about schools and their kids’ various achievements, but I’m all about multitasking.

Sometimes I get jealous of people who have a slower lifestyle.   It sounds so nice to have one week run into another with only the needs of the folks under your roof demanding your attention.  Time to just be has a nice ring to it.

But the fact is, I think that deep down I like being busy.  I make choices about what I do with my time, and those choices make me busy.  I am a go-go kind of person.  When given the opportunity, I’m not happy sitting still.  On vacation, I’m that obnoxious person who wants to get everyone up and out of the hotel in the morning so we can get a full day of sightseeing or activities.  I find it hard to just sit and watch TV.  (I usually pull out a jigsaw puzzle to work while I’m watching the TV.)

 I could have a more laid back schedule, but it would mean giving up the work I do up at Liv’s school, or helping out with Girl Scouts, or not being there for my grandmother.  Busy as they make me, these things make me happy.   So I’ve learned to give up any notion of ever having long periods of unscheduled time or days with no unending to do list.  As nice as that sounds, it’s just not going to happen. And if I know that it’s not a possibility, then I don’t find myself comparing my actual busy day with the idealized unbusy day.  If I know for a fact that there will never be a day when every item gets crossed off of the to-do list, I don’t stress when I realize I need to work one more errand or project into the mix.  I just rearrange and go on.

And when it comes time for me to pare down my schedule, I’m quick to jettison those things that don’t bring me joy.  This is why my house is constantly in a state of disarray, there are mildew rings around my tub, and the dishes are stacked a mile high on the counter.  

I’m just too busy to deal with any of that pesky housekeeping.  🙂

2 thoughts on “On being busy

  1. ja says:

    Hang in There
    jah

    One time, so many years ago, I too, was thirty five.
    My world was topsy- turvy and all days in overdrive.
    Twenty four hours weren’t enough to finish every chore.
    My frazzled brain kept screaming…where’s the time…
    I just need more!!!

    There never seemed to be a moment free for rest, or fun.
    My days, from sun up till sundown were run, run, run, run, run!
    My weary brain was sparking like a wild electric charge.
    I was the cook, the chauffeur, nurse…
    Guess one could call me Sarge!
    In tiny segments I could only dream days would be calm,
    in this A-bomb.

    I had no clue that one day I’d look back, in peaceful days,
    and think of all young families do…
    I truly am amazed!
    So hang on tight and run the race, it’s worth each bump and scrape;
    ‘cause every moment’s making your life wonderful and great!
    And one day, if you’re lucky, you will be a Grammy too,
    And watch, in awe, as your kids deal with days…
    You’ve just live through!

    • You are such a talented writer!! The poem you wrote for Olivia when she was born was the sweetest welcome into the world. Thanks for the reminder that the days will eventually slow down. In the middle of the busy-ness, it can seem like it will never end. –Anne

Leave a Reply

