Packing it in for a few months

Most of the time I’ll let the housework slide in favor of a crafty good time.  Dining room table?  We haven’t eaten at it for over a month because it’s covered in my sewing projects.  I like a clean home, but not at the expense of creativity.

But as I was looking at my calendar for the next few months, I realized something had to give.  We’ve got two family vacations, Fall Fest at my daughter’s school (which I’m coordinating), Halloween, my daughter’s birthday – she wants a slumber part this year, eek! – and our annual Christmas cookie decorating party.  The cookie decorating party is kind of a big event.  Last year we had 30 kids at our house for the cookie decorating party, and I made 40 dozen rolled cookies in preparation for that.

It happens like this every year.  It seems that just about every week there will be some sort of major activity.  I refer to it sometimes as my death march through the holidays.  I turn myself into a big ol’ stress ball trying to do it all.  I’m realizing this year that I can simplify my life by putting the crafty and sewy stuff on the backburner for a few months.  I’m sure I’ll squeeze in one or two small crafty things, but I’m not even thinking about taking on any kind of mess making project.

For a creative sort like myself, this is big stuff.

On the other hand, as soon as I made this decision,  I felt a huge weight lifting off of me.  I’m feeling really positive about packing it in for a few months.  I’ll spend the time cleaning and organizing my studio, readying it for a big craft binge come January.

3 thoughts on “Packing it in for a few months

  1. Denise says:

    Even though you are the most amazing Wonder Woman I know, even a superhero has to set some priorities for the sake of sanity. I’m imagining the burst of creativity to come after the holidays. I’ll be listening for the sonic boom. 🙂

  2. I laughed out loud recognizing the picture of the dining table, the reason I’m organizing the studio now is that we finally started eating at ours and all the craft stuff had to go back to where it belong 🙂 My husband one day stood and watched the mountain of art stuff covering our pretty huge table and he said in the most polite of ways that if I don’t use my very own room at the loft he might as well claim it for himself. Said and done it was a reason good as any, now it’s magic in the making.
    I think you have a very creative period in front of you with organizing all parties, birthdays and holidays. Creativity can take so many forms and if you one day want a small vacation from all the musts of x-mas you can visit some hideaway and your crafting will seem like vacation for you instead of another thing you just have to fit in to the already stretched 24 hours. I think it’s a wise decision! And good luck to you Wonder Woman with all that’s ahead!

    • I think I definitely binge & purge creatively. I have periods of great productivity, followed by time when I have to get recharged and reorganized. My family & holiday schedule is imposing a recharge and reorganize period on me. The fact that I felt so relieved when I finally wrapped my head around not taking on creative projects tells me it’s the right decision for me. I just need to start a notebook for all of the ideas that keep flitting through my head as I rediscover my studio stash.

      I posted photos today that show the mess of the studio. I can’t believe that my husband hasn’t said anything about it or the lack of a dining room table yet. Maybe he’s not brave enough. 🙂

Leave a Reply

