My Granny

Wow… what a day it’s been.  And not in a good way.

First off, I should explain that the big reason for our annual trip to the beach is to give my mother some down time from being the primary caregiver for my mother.  Last night, my mother got a call at around 11:00 from my sister (or maybe my uncle, I don’t know for sure) telling her that my grandmother had fallen. She hit her head and was bleeding pretty badly.  They called 911 and then spent the next several hours with her in the ER getting her stitched up.  The ER folks were amazed to find nothing wrong with her other than a cut on her head.  But, as they were putting her in the  car to go back home, she complained of being nauseous.  Those were her last words.  She died right there.

If I were at home, I’d share photos I’ve taken of my grandmother over the last few years.  But, I’m here in Gulf Shores while my photos are all back in Little Rock.  I’d show you the photo I took on her 97th birthday where she took a little pretaste of the icing on her coconut creme birthday cake.  Or maybe the photo of the kids at the preschool that backs up to her property walking up to her back porch to sing her Happy Birthday on that same 97th birthday.  Or the snapshot of the first time she held my baby girl in her arms.

The funeral will be held this weekend in her hometown in north Alabama, which is less than a 6 hour drive from the coast.  It wouldn’t make sense for us to leave here and drive 10 hours back home only to turn around and drive out to the funeral.  We’re going to stay put here in Gulf Shores until the day before the funeral.  The little girl has been looking forward to our girl trip down the beach for the past year.  We didn’t have the heart to take that away from her, too.

I don’t have much to say about it all at this point. We’re still taking it all in.

5 thoughts on “My Granny

  1. Denise says:

    Loving y’all. My heart aches. I’ll look forward to seeing those photos of Granny again.

  2. I’m sorry for your loss!
    And 97 years, what a blessing, even if in grief. You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers!

  3. Boomdeeadda says:

    Oh dear, I skipped back a few posts and I’m very sorry to read this news. How tragic and sad for your whole family. When I think of all the things your Granny has seen and lived through, 97 years seems immense, but still heartbreaking. My Sympathy.

Leave a Reply

