Back from my vacay, and my Granny gets some birthday cake

Well, our much anticipated beach vacation took a turn with the sad news about my grandmother.  We did still manage to have some good times, though, but it just seemed kind of awkward to post fun pictures while we were still adjusting to the fact that my grandmother is no longer with us.

We got in some good beach time skipping waves, walking on the shore, and sitting out at sunset and watching the brown pelicans fly low across the water in search of their dinner.  We spent several mornings out on the balcony watching for dolphins playing out deep in the water.  We played some mini-golf at our favorite place – kind of run down but quirky and deeply shaded from beautiful old trees, and a bargain at only $5 a person.  We took a picnic out to Fort Morgan and explored the nooks and crannies of the old fort.  We took a walk down one of the trails at Bon Secour Wildlife Refuge.  I took plenty of photos and I’ll be obnoxious over the next few days sharing some of my favorites.

But today, it seems appropriate to share some of my favorite photos of my Granny on her 97th birthday earlier this year.  I mentioned them in the previous post.

Getting a preview taste of the coconut creme icing on her birthday cake.

And blowing out the candle.

I love you, Granny.  I’m so blessed to have had you in my life.

3 thoughts on “Back from my vacay, and my Granny gets some birthday cake

  1. Denise says:

    Thank you for sharing those photos! Dang, Granny was pretty!

  2. I’m so sorry about your grandmother. I’m glad you have so many good memories (and fun photos!) to remember her by. I love that she was so loved.

Leave a Reply

