In spite of the sad news about my grandmother and the ensuirng flurry of phone calls, we did manage to have some great family moments. 

One day we took a short trip out to Fort Morgan to tour the old fort grounds.  On the way back, we took a quick walk down one of the nature trails at Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge.  

From the Alabama Historical Commission:

“Since 1834 Fort Morgan has stood as the guardian of Mobile Bay. The military site and National Historic Landmark is located 22 miles west of Gulf Shores. During the Civil War on August 5, 1864, Fort Morgan played a key role during the Battle of Mobile Bay before surrendering to Union forces after a two-week siege. Alabama’s largest permanent military post between 1900 and 1923, the fort served during the Spanish-American War and World Wars I and II. “

While some of the rooms are off limits, and a few staircases cordoned off with yellow caution tape, much of the fort is open to explore. 

I tried to not be that obnoxious mom with the camera, but with all of the scenery, the old brick backgrounds, the puddles of light flooding into the old fort rooms, how could I not go a little photo crazy??

And check this out.  They’ve had issues with drainage since the fort was built.  The water dripping through the fort is creating stalagmites and stalagtites.

And check out how the light spills on to Liv’s face.  Perfect backdrop for a portrait shoot!!

After Fort Morgan, we took an abbreviated hike down one of the trails at Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge.  We cut it short for several reasons – we were running out of afternoon, we stupidly wore flip flops, and the bugs were out in force.  (Part of the trail goes by a swamp. Need I say more?) 

But we did make it halfway down the trail (1.5 miles).  We saw some gorgeous mossy trees, and a lookout over the Little Lagoon.

Fort Morgan & Bon Secour

4 thoughts on “Fort Morgan & Bon Secour

  1. ja says:

    WOW! Talk about nostalgia…gonna forward you “Pop’s Passion”.
    Super pictures, especially Liv on the ladder.

    • I’d love to read it!! Do you have my email? I know most of the stuff you send me has to go through my mom. You can email me directly at anneweaver_at_swbell.net (replace the word _at_ with an actual @ sign).

      I had a bit of nostalgia when we were walking around. I realized as were walking through some of the old rooms that I had been there before. When I was just a little bit younger than Olivia. Granny & Papa had taken us. I remember being afraid that there were ghosts in the old rooms. Somewhere there’s a picture of my sister and me in front of the fort. My sister is standing there like a normal child, but I twisted my body into some sort of goofy pose.

  2. Your photos are amazing!!!

  3. Denise says:

    You have become a first-class photographer, truly. Awesome photos.

Leave a Reply

