Channeling my inner geezer

Last night I taught Olivia how to play dominoes.  She suggested dominoes as a family game to play, thinking we’d just take turns laying down dominoes with numbers matching the ones already on the table.  But I taught her the real way.

Keeping score with pluses instead of numbers.

Do you see how bad Tony smoked us?  It was shameful.  He did that in just three hands.  I started calling him Mr. 1 Percent Domino.

I laughed about how I was channeling my inner geezer, but really I was feeling all nostalgic about the times I sat around the table playing dominoes with my Granny and Papa.  I cannot count the number of times we all sat around the table at night and played this game until bedtime.  My Granny and Papa aren’t with us any more, but it felt good to bring Olivia into the tradition.

3 thoughts on “Channeling my inner geezer

  1. Marisa says:

    haha,so awesome. Well, not the score, in your case, although i must admit I have never in my life won a game of dominoes. Love that Liv!! And so great to continue on the family tradition! She’ll probably play it with her kiddos someday 🙂

  2. Boomdeeadda says:

    I don’t think I really know how to play either, but I always like the look and feel of vintage dominos. I’ll have to goggle that. My brother taught us a new game with ‘domino like’ tiles called Mexican train….lot’s of tiles and lots of fun. I miss the game playing days.

Leave a Reply

