I’m no longer dreaming of a white Christmas

It seems like forever since I’ve posted.  EEEK! I just checked and my last post was nearly a month ago!  Wow. 

So much has happened in that month.  It’s been a whirlwind of Christmas play practices, PTA projects, stuff going on at  Liv’s school.  And the cookie party.

The cookie party is an annual event at our house.  I bake up a jillion butter cookies and invite all of Liv’s friends to come over and decorate them.  Tony is the icing man, mixing and tinting icing for all the kids to use.  We decided that next year, Tony gets a theme song.  “Ice, Ice , Baby”  We’ll start rolling the dum-dum-dum dum-dum dum dum when we brings out the icing. 

Sometimes we have as many as 30 kids decorating cookies.  It’s a major undertaking getting ready for the party. This year I made 42 dozen rolled cookies in preparation.  That’s, like, over 500 cookies. 

But this year it got even more complicated when a friend called and asked if I could watch her two oldest kids for a couple of days while she was in the hospital.  The overstressed part of me was screaming, “Nooooo, not this week!” on the inside, but luckily the adult part of me was the one who told her that it wouldn’t be a problem at all.

I’m so glad I did.  But that’s another post.  That was such a heartbreaking but soul changing experience that I can’t do it justice in this quick recap.  I’m going to skip to Christmas.

Which was beautiful.  Liv was in a small Christmas play at church on the 23rd.  Then a candlight Christmas Eve service.  And then Santa came and left presents at our house.  And then we exchanged gifts.  Liv got tons of Lego Friends. Tony got a big ol’ popcorn maker.  I got tons of cheap costume jewelry from Forever 21. (My little girl knows what her mama likes…)

And then, Christmas evening, it snowed.

Like, a lot.

Like, 8-10 inches.

This is what my house looked like by about 6:00 that evening.

whitechristmas

But before it snowed, we got a nice coating of ice on all the trees.  The heavy ice and then wet snow on the limbs, coupled with the strong winds, brought trees and power lines down all over the city.  We lost power at 9:00 that evening.  By the next morning, 70% of Little Rock was without electricity.

I don’t think there’s a single house in our neighborhood that doesn’t have at least one branch (or entire tree) down.  At our house, we lost a major branch on the oak tree out front, the tops of many of our beautiful azaleas are now snapped off, and a neighbor’s limb came down and punched a couple of holes in our carport roof.  I consider us to be lucky.  Our next door neighbor had a tree come down and rip the power lines off of her house, and then pulled part of the siding back.  She had a hole (and a broken, twisted window) on the back of her house.

And three houses down, another neighbor had a tree come down onto his house.  Another came down and blocked the road.  Here’s the scene at the back of his house. (Photo taken today, after most of the snow has melted.)

SAMSUNG

Needless to say, our white Christmas left a major mess all over town. 

As of today (the 29th), we still don’t have power on at our house.  We’re lucky enough to have a generator to keep some lights and the heat and the internet going, but it’s starting to wear thin.

Our dining room has been turned into a tiny efficiency apartment so we can take advantage of the heat from the fireplace.  (We turn the generator off at night and heat with an old-fashioned fire.) 

393012_10200257848992699_188988240_n

We moved the dining table out, and in its place we have the mattress from our bed, a small table, a loveseat, some TV trays, and a drying rack.  We have sheets hanging in all the doorways to keep the heat in the dining room as best we can during the night.  I don’t even want to tell you what the rest of the house looks like.  Between furniture we’ve moved out of the dining room and then all the extension cords snaking through the house and all the Christmas gifts not put up yet, it’s CRAZY messed up.  Tony has not gotten a full night sleep yet, as he has to get up several times during the night to stoke the fire or add another log.

We’re running low on firewood and I just found out it’s going to get down to 20 degrees tonight.  Think warm thoughts for us!

Next year, I don’t think I’ll be dreaming of a white Christmas.

4 thoughts on “I’m no longer dreaming of a white Christmas

  1. Denise says:

    This is one of those Christmases you’ll remember forever. It will be funny to tell your grandkids about. In fact, it may take until you have grandkids for it to be funny…

  2. Boomdeeadda says:

    Son of a gun Anne, I’m sorry to hear the weather threw such a wrench into your holiday Celebrations. I can truly relate, back in 2007 we also had an ice storm that brought down power lines in a large part of northeast Alberta. It was May, we also had a generator to operate our heater and a gas fireplace. I remember it was miserable. Hope you get back to normal soon.

  3. Christina says:

    Came to visit your blog. and what a lovely blog you have 🙂
    Oh my goodness what a Christmas present Mother Nature gave you. I’m not envious! We were without power for 4 days last year Halloween when a Nor’easter blew over. I had a 5 month old baby and no electricity or hot water. That was not much fun. Luckily I was still breast feeding her so she wasn’t fussed. We had the fireplace on and slept in front of it during the nights. Quite an experience I say.

  4. Holy cow — that’s some Christmas!! Sometimes I feel like, in spite of all the technology and comforts, I need to be versed in all things pioneer. Like how to make a fire without matches, how to forage for food, how to make do without electricity. Crazy, isn’t it?

    Hope you have a delightful, warm and peaceful New Year! ~Joan

Leave a Reply

