It’s a new year, y’all

DSC_1713_edited_small

Last night we said goodbye to 2012 and welcomed 2013 with open arms.  I have the typical wishes for a simpler lifestyle, a clean house, and a slimmer midsection.  I’ll try my darndest to make those happen, but the reality is that I’ll probably fall short and find myself 12 months from now wishing for those exact same things for the next year.  I’m okay with that.  Circle of life and fallen expectations and all of that.

But what I need more than anything out of coming year is a year without major sickness in our family.   Last year held a lot of good byes for me.  Our Christmas gift list was short three names.  Alzheimer’s and stage 4 cancer took my father away, body and mind. And then just a few months later, my grandmother was in the hospital, presumably for pneumonia.  She made it through and back home again, only to die suddenly from something unrelated.  And just a month before Christmas, Tony’s grandmother also died. I can make myself okay if I slip up and don’t get my house cleaned out or improving my exercise habits, but I absolutely need a year without hospitals or funerals.

Leave a Reply

