Morning at the museum

Lookie where we were today!

DSC_1732_cropped_small

Is that the Oval Office?  Looks like it, but it’s actually a replica at the Clinton Presidential Center.  Liv, my mother, and I spent a couple of hours down there today.

DSC_1735_edited_small

The purpose of the trip was to see an exhibit of art made from Legos.  It was just one room, but there were a number of sculptures and accompanying photographs that included the sculptures somewhere within the scene.  They didn’t necessarily place the coordinating pieces side by side, so we had fun matching up the sculptures with the photographs.

Whenever I take Liv to see art, I ask her to tell me which piece is her favorite.  In order to answer my question, she has to look at every single piece in the gallery.  Sneaky mom.  I usually also ask her to tell me why it’s her favorite, which then gets her looking closer at color, form, etc.

Today, Liv’s favorite piece was an umbrella.  I asked her why, she said it was cool that you could make an umbrella out of Legos.  (Not a very detailed answer, but I had to agree – it IS cool that someone made an umbrella out of Legos.)

DSC_1743_edited_small

This dress was my mother’s favorite.  She liked the way that the artist showed the movement of the dress using the plastic bricks.

DSC_1744_edited_small

While we were there, we also checked out an exhibit of gifts made to the Clintons by heads of state from around the world.

After viewing the exhibits, we grabbed a bite to eat at 42, the museum restaurant.  It gets its name from the fact that Clinton was the 42nd president of the United States, and also the 42nd governor of Arkansas.  Liv felt all fancy drinking her water from a stemmed glass.

DSC_1759_edited_small

One thought on “Morning at the museum

  1. Boomdeeadda says:

    What a fabulous gallery. I’m with your mom, I love the red dress too. That is just A-mazing. It’d be fun to see what kind of gifts were given to the Clintons, don’t they get to keep them? Bummer.

Leave a Reply

